Maryland's Medical Cannabis Laws
In 2011, Maryland passed SB 308, which amended the Darrell Putman Compassionate Use Act to recognize specific medical conditions that may benefit from medical marijuana and to remove the misdemeanor penalty for patients that can show medical necessity. However, a $100 fine can still be imposed and patients who possess more than one ounce or consume their medication in public are not entitled to an affirmative defense. SB 308 also implements a workgroup to study the issue and make recommendations for a more comprehensive bill in 2012. ASA and other advocates will be working with the O'Malley administration and the Maryland legislature to craft a sensible bill that will better meet patients' needs.
In 2003, Maryland passed the Darrell Putman Compassionate Use Act recognizing medical marijuana and establishing a so-called affirmative defense for patients. However, even if sufficient medical necessity can be shown, a patient can still be convicted of a misdemeanor offense and be charged a $100 fine. Furthermore, the law only applies to defendants possessing less than one ounce of marijuana.